Wakeboarder Forum Index

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   StatisticsStats   FavoritesFavorites   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages  Log inLog in 
BlogsBlogs   

What speed and rope length?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Nukleuz

PostPosted: Aug 22, 2012 12:37 am    Post subject: What speed and rope length? Reply with quote

Hi Guys

This is going to be my second seasion boarding, so still an absolute noob!

I am battling to figure out the correct speed to ride at.

The boat is a 2008 Seadoo wakster 430

Any advise as to what speed to travel at?

Also, what is the recommended rope length for a noob like me ? Laughing
FlyZone CR
Wakeboarder.Commie
Wakeboarder.Commie

City: Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica

PostPosted: Aug 22, 2012 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Speed: whatever feels comfortable.
Rope length: super short cause sea doo wakes get wide really quick.

Nukleuz

PostPosted: Aug 22, 2012 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flyzone,

Thanks for the reply, but to be honest that doesnt really help much.

What speed range should i be testing out?

And the rope length, how short is super short?
twolfcorner2009

PostPosted: Aug 23, 2012 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depending on your comfort level riding and what you're trying to accomplish and what makes the best wake for your boat you're riding behind, anywhere between 18-24 mph should be good. Play with it until you find the sweet spot.

Again, just play with your rope length to find where the sweet spot is for your wake. It can range from 65-85 feet depending on your speed and the wake your boat is throwing off.
FlyZone CR
Wakeboarder.Commie
Wakeboarder.Commie

City: Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica

PostPosted: Aug 23, 2012 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know that specific boat but behind most seadoo's you'll want to ride somewhere between 50 and 60 feet.
anw7405
Outlaw