Wakeboarder Forum Index

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   StatisticsStats   FavoritesFavorites   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages  Log inLog in 
BlogsBlogs   

Surfboard for a bigger experienced rider

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Wakeboarder Forum Index -> Wakesurfing and Surfing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Fast351
Outlaw
Outlaw

City: Dayton, MN

PostPosted: Jun 21, 2010 8:04 am    Post subject: Surfboard for a bigger experienced rider Reply with quote

I have been riding for about 3 years. I have an Air Nautique SV-211 that I ride behind, and my buddy have an older Tige. His boat is set up pretty much exclusively for wakesurfing, and throws up a great wake, probably in part due to the fact that we usually have a pile of people on board. My boat, I surf with just myself and my wife pretty regularly, and sometimes I have a few more people, which really improves the wake.

I have an Alias 5.0, which I like riding, and whether we're riding behind our boat or my buddies' boat, free riding isn't a problem, but the thing feels like a tank when you're trying to do maneuvers, and I want to start trying 360s, which I don't think this board is capable of. (Or at least I'm not capable of doing it).

He has an Alias 4.6, which I can definitely ride behind his boat with a bigger wake comfortably, and probably could behind mine as well.

Then I recently bought a Coex 4.4, which is a really fun board, and would fit the bill, but I have a hard time keeping up behind his boat, and it's pretty much impossible for me behind mine, unless we have extra people on board. I kind of suspected as much when I bought it, but it should work great for my wife, so it's money well spent regardless. (The Alias 5.0 is way too big for her). It rides too low in the water for me.