Wakeboarder Forum Index

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   StatisticsStats   FavoritesFavorites   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages  Log inLog in 
BlogsBlogs   

new to wakeboarding..any advice

View previous topic :: View next topic  
bmarley630

PostPosted: Apr 05, 2009 10:45 pm    Post subject: new to wakeboarding..any advice Reply with quote

i just got my own boat with my friend and i was going to try to get into wakeboarding.. i have been snowboarding for like 10 years and also surfing so i feel like i should be able to pick up wakeboarding quick.. i just am trying to figure out what would be a good board and bindings to get.. i dont know much about all the brands and i would like to not spend too much on the setup any advice anyone could give me would be cool...thanks
trevordj
Criminal
Criminal

PostPosted: Apr 06, 2009 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Welcome,

I am fairly new as well. I started wakeboarding a couple of years ago but I have been limited by my equipment and the length of the season(Michigan gets cold pretty quick and stays that way). I just bought a new board and bindings this year. I got a Gator Signature 139 cm with Liquid Force Index bindings. It cost a total of $229.00 at [url]the-house.com[/url]. The board is on closeout right now and it says it might have some visual defects but mine arrived in pristine condition. Also if you order from them. I was able to knock 5% off by searching for an online coupon code.

You probably already know this but the hardest thing I had to deal with when I started wakeboarding, was getting out of the water. I ended up just doing dock starts for the first year. We eventually determined it was because we were always giving the boat too much throttle right away and it was just ripping the handle right out of my hands.
Medina
Wakeboarder.Commie
Wakeboarder.Commie

City: Netherlands