Wakeboarder Forum Index

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   StatisticsStats   FavoritesFavorites   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages  Log inLog in 
BlogsBlogs   

a couple of questions

View previous topic :: View next topic  
supergj

City: Leidschendam

PostPosted: Mar 24, 2004 9:22 am    Post subject: a couple of questions Reply with quote

hi i've got some questions. i'm new with wakeboarding: i've done it for 2 years now, but have not really done some tricks.

the first is at what speed should you navigate? we did it at 22 mph.

is it possible to jump 'high' with a rope attached horizontally? i just jumped like 2 feet.
hit my profile to see me wakeboarding
03Belmont
Wakeboarder.com Freak
Wakeboarder.com Freak

PostPosted: Mar 24, 2004 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

speed i would say 20 through 22 mph will work fine
supergj

PostPosted: Mar 24, 2004 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you see, my rope is attached on the back of the boat. so maybe i should make it shorter, to catch the wave better?
bluefish86
Wakeboarder.Commie
Wakeboarder.Commie

City: Ottawa

PostPosted: Mar 24, 2004 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any speed between 18 mph and 24 mph is reasonable. It really depends on personal preference.

You can still jump very high with the rope attached to a low point on the boat. Attaching to a higher point doesn't add too much as far as jump height goes. It mainly helps by making the pull of the rope feel "floatier" and less harsh.

If you want to make you're jump height better, there are two things you can do:
-Add ballast to make your wake bigger
-Work on perfecting your technique. My boat has a wake that's just above ankle-high, but I can still get four to five foot high jumps with good technique.
03Belmont
Wakeboarder.com Freak
Wakeboarder.com Freak

PostPosted: Mar 24, 2004 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote